Webinar: Optical Tweezers – Nobel Prize-Winning Technology

Webinar on Wednesday 23rd January 2019 about optical tweezers from JPK Instruments (now part of Bruker).

  • An introduction to the technology
  • Non-invasive sample manipulation
  • Trapping and tracking
  • How they can be used with other measurement techniques

Blue Scientific is the official Nordic distributor for Bruker JPK Instruments in the Nordic region (Norway, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland). For more information or quotes, please get in touch.

JPK Instruments

 Contact us on +44 (0)1223 422 269 or info@blue-scientific.com

  

Optical Tweezers

Optical tweezers use the momentum of light to trap nm- to µm-sized particles. They’re also known as optical traps.

They can be used to take single molecule force and motion measurements. Photo-damage to biological samples is minimal.

Webinar Programme

The webinar will discuss how optical tweezers are being used in new biological applications:

  • Principles of optical tweezers
  • Using the JPK NanoTracker, from single molecules to live cells
  • Force measurements in the piconewton range
  • Non-invasive sample manipulation
  • Sensitive and precise trapping and tracking: DNA, motor-proteins, viruses, bacteria and more
  • Using optical tweezers together with other measurement techniques: fluorescence, AFM, confocal, TIRF, etc.

Speaker

The webinar will be presented by Dr Vitaliy Oliynyk, Senior Applications Scientist at the JPK BioAFM Centre. He has extensive experience with Ooical tweezer technology and techniques, including scanning probe microscopy, differential scanning calorimetry, ultrasonic spectroscopy and laser scanning confocal microscopy.

Register for the Webinar

The webinar will run twice on Wednesday 23rd January 2019 – pick the time most convenient for you:

  • Session 1 – 9:00am CET, 4:00pm SGT, 5:00pm JST – register now
  • Session 2 – 5:00pm CET, 11:00am EST, 8:00am PST – register now
Using optical tweezers to pull membrane tethers from live cells – watch the video here
JPK NanoTracker Optical Tweezers

JPK Instruments

JPK Instruments (now part of Bruker) provides microscopy instruments for:

  • Biomolecular imaging
  • Cellular imaging
  • Force measurements on single molecules, cells and tissues

More about their systems…

More Information

Blue Scientific is the official Nordic distributor of Bruker JPK Instruments. If you have any questions or if you’d like a quote, please get in touch:

 Contact us on +44 (0)1223 422 269 or info@blue-scientific.com

JPK Instruments