Analyse Trace Metals in Biological and Medical Samples

How TXRF (Total Reflection X-Ray Fluorescence) can be used to measure trace metals in biopharmaceutical, clinical and biological research.

Learn more in Bruker’s webinar on Wednesday 27th February 2019 – details below.

Blue Scientific is the official Nordic distributor for Bruker TXRF in the UK and Nordic region (Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland). For more information or quotes, please get in touch.

 TXRF Instrumentation

 Webinar 27/02/19

 Contact us on +44 (0)1223 422 269 or info@blue-scientific.com

  

Trace Metals in Biology and Medical Research

Metals play a vital role in cellular and sub-cellular functions, for example:

  • Iron deficiency – a common problem in cancer patients and also associated with complications in surgery.
  • Metal ions in blood plasma.
  • Copper is essential for cellular enzymes that trigger redox reactions and for the stabilising protein particulates.
  • Divalent cations Zn2+, Ca2+ and Mg2+ – prevent cytotoxicity and in vivo antagonise Cd-induced carcinogenesis.
  • Toxic metals inhibit enzyme functions causing serious health issues.

What is TXRF? 

TXRF (Total Reflection X-ray Fluorescence) spectroscopy is an established technique for trace element analysis, suitable for a wide variety of samples including life science and biopharmaceuticals.

  • Measure multiple elements in one run
  • Low sub-ppb detection limits
  • Fast, cost-effective alternative to ICP-MS

TXRF spectrometers are plug-and-play systems that give you fast, accurate results. Even very small sample amounts can be measured. This is useful in biochemistry and medicine, for example when analysing enzymes and in Alzheimer’s disease research.

Webinar: Learn more

Find out more about analysing trace metals in biological and medical samples in Bruker’s webinar on Wednesday 27th February 2019.

The webinar will explain how TXRF can be used in biopharmaceutical, clinical and biological research. This will be of interest to:

  • (Bio)pharmaceutical researchers
  • Scientists, postdoctoral fellows and students at biological / biochemistry institutes and research centres
  • Physicians and chemists at hospitals and clinical research facilities
  • Analytical chemistry researchers

During the live webinar there’ll be an opportunity to ask any questions you may have.

Speakers:

  • Dr. Po-Wah So – Preclinical Facilities Manager, King’s College London
  • Dr. Hagen Stosnach – TXRF Application Scientist, Bruker Nano Analytics
  • Dr. Armin Gross – Global TXRF Product Manager, Bruker Nano Analytics

Registration

Register on Bruker’s website and you’ll receive a link to attend the live webinar on Wednesday 27th February 2019. The webinar will last 1 hour:

Session 1

9 am GMT, 10 am CET, 5 pm CST, 6 pm JST

Session 2

8 am PST, 11 am EST, 4 pm GMT, 5 pm CET

Can’t attend the live webinar? Register here to receive a link to the recorded version.

Bruker S4 TStar TXRF

Bruker S4 TStar

Powerful, plug-and-play TXRF system:

  • Low sub-ppb detection
  • Capacity for 90 samples
  • Automatic quality control routines to guarantee data quality
  • 24/7 overnight operation

More info…

Further Information

Blue Scientific is the official distributor of Bruker TXRF. We’re available to help with questions and provide quotes – just get in touch:

 Contact us on +44 (0)1223 422 269 or info@blue-scientific.com

 Bruker S4 TStar